WCBS Newsradio 880 Recognized with 2015 National Edward R. Murrow Award for “Overall Excellence”

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) today announced the winners of its respected annual honors, the 2015 National Edward R. Murrow Awards, and CBS RADIO’s WCBS Newsradio 880 (WCBS-AM, New York) was awarded with “Overall Excellence in Large Market Radio.”  The station previously won the award in this category in 2004.

This year’s winning entry, which can be heard here, included coverage of the east Harlem gas explosion, New York City police protests, and the murders of New York Police Department officers Rafael Ramos and Wenjian Liu.

“From their latest newsflash reports, in-depth investigations, to special daily features, WCBS Newsradio 880 truly exemplifies the finest in news radio,” said Scott Herman, Executive Vice President of Operations for CBS RADIO and New York Market Manager.  “This award acknowledges the hard work, passion and endless commitment the station has to delivering its listeners first class news radio journalism.”

“It truly is an honor to win this prestigious award, and it means so much to the group here at WCBS Newsradio 880 who all played a role in the winning coverage,” said Tim Scheld, Director of News and Programming for WCBS Newsradio 880.  “We work tirelessly every day to give our listeners groundbreaking reporting and compelling news, and they know they can count on us.  This honor recognizes the power of radio journalism and our desire to always get it right.”

Since 1971, the Edward R. Murrow Awards have recognized outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the spirit of excellence that Murrow made standard for the broadcast news profession.  As one of the uppermost forms of praise and honor in the industry, those news organizations honored with the “Overall Excellence” award must exemplify the highest standards in serving its audience through quality electronic journalism.

The winners will be recognized at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City on October 12.  A complete list of winners can be found on the RTDNA website here.